EXPUNGEMENT DEPARTMENT

CALCASIEU PARISH CLERK OF COURT

1000 RYAN STREET – ROOM 5 LAKE CHARLES, LA 70601 Telephone: (337) 437-3550

Fax: (337) 437-3350

MONICA WINFREY- Expungement Processor mwinfrey@calcasieuclerk.gov

HAZEL HOUSE – Expungement Processor

hhouse@calcasieuclerk.gov

Eligibility for Expungements

Arrests that did NOT result in Conviction

- Time expired for prosecution
- Not prosecuted for any offense arising out of this charge
- DWI Pre-trial Diversion Program and 5 years have elapsed since date of arrest
- Charge dismissed
- Found not guilty
- Pre-trial Diversion Program

Misdemeanor Convictions

- Conviction was set aside or dismissed to 894
- More that 5 years have passed

Felony Convictions

- Conviction was set aside or dismissed to 893
- More than 10 years have passed since completion of sentence
- Entitled to a first offender pardon for the offense provided that the offense is not defined as a crime of violence or sex offense

Convictions may apply for Motion to set aside:

- Misdemeanors with 894 and less than 5 years have passed
- Felonies with 893 and less than 10 years have passed

1st Offense Marijuana - Eligibility for Expungement (Per Act 342)

- "...a person may file a motion to expunge his record of arrest and conviction of a misdemeanor conviction for a first offense possession of marijuana, tetrahydrocannabinol, or chemical derivatives thereof after ninety days from the date of conviction."
- This "provision shall terminate on August 1, 2026."

Expungement Processing Steps

- Step 1: Attain Criminal History for Expungement from the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office 5400 E. Broad Street. Cost \$10
- Step 2: If any of these items are needed for the packet you may pick up from: Clerk of Court Criminal Records on 1st floor.
 - 1. Sentencing Minutes / \$10 a copy / \$15 a certified copy.
 - 2. Bill of Information / \$1 a copy / \$5 a certified copy
 - 3. Letter of Completion/Pardon/\$1 a copy/\$5 certified copy.
 - * Certified Copies are needed for DWI
- Step 3: Pick up an Expungement Packet at Clerk of Court Room 5

Cost \$12 check or money order. See Monica Winfrey or Hazel House

Step 4: Fee Waivers are approved by the District Attorney's Office

901 Lake Shore Dr., Lake Charles, LA. 8th Floor – See Candance Basoner

* No pending felonies. The offense for which you are seeking expungement was prosecuted and ended in acquittal, motion to quash, nolle prosed, or dismissed/refused and the time limit for prosecution has expired. Turn in fee wavier with completed packet with 4 or 5 money orders or cashiers checks.

LETTER OF COMPLETION AND RECIEPT OF COURT COST MUST BE PROVIDED WITH COMPLETED EXPUNGEMENT PACKET.

EXPUNGEMENT COST

Louisiana State Police (LSP)	\$250.00
Calcasieu Parish Clerk of Court (CPCC)	\$200.00
Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office (CPSO)	\$50.00
Calcasieu Parish District Attorney (CPDA)	\$50.00
TOTAL	\$550.00
Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV)	\$50.00

1st OFFENSE MARIJUANA COST (ACT 342) - ONLY

TOTAL	\$300.00
Calcasieu Parish District Attorney (CPDA)	\$50.00
Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office (CPSO)	\$50.00
Calcasieu Parish Clerk of Court (CPCC)	\$150.00
Louisiana State Police (LSP)	\$ 50.00

ALL COURT COST AND FEES MUST BE PAID IN FULL AND THERE SHOULD BE NO PENDING CHARGES BEFORE APPLYING FOR EXPUNGEMENT.

PICTURE ID MUST BE PRESENTED AT TIME OF SERVICE.

Please Allow up to 8 Months for Completion of Expungement Process.